birthday, celebration, chocolate cakes and bakes, decorated cakes, family, fruity cakes and bakes
Comments 8

Coconut and Raspberry Celebration

Now to get constructing this cake.
When someone who follows me on-line, whether it is my Facebook page or Instagram or Twitter, asks me to bake for them I am always thrilled. It’s reassurance that what I am doing is right. After all of the positive comments about the Chocolate and Cherry Explosion cake I was asked by a local woman to make it for her and her husband as they were celebrating their 25th or Silver wedding anniversary. I said yes straight away. Then the lovely Kate started to question the flavour of cake: she had seen a few in recent weeks on my page that she also liked. In the end, and a quick consultation with one of her sons, we settled on Raspberry and Coconut. But this couldn’t be an ordinary sandwich cake: this has to be spectacular and shout out “celebration” and so my mind went straight to edible silver leaf and I started to scour the supermarkets for luxurious confections that could adorn the cake.

Pouring a sugar syrup flavoured with a glug of Chambord, a raspberry liqueur.

Pouring a sugar syrup flavoured with a glug of Chambord, a raspberry liqueur.

The cake itself is a coconut all in one recipe that I use from an old Good Food supplement. I made it twice, giving me four 8” rounds. I wanted to ensure the cake was moist and flavourful in every bite, so I made a sugar syrup with added Chambord to drizzle over each layer.

Making the fresh raspberry puree

Making the fresh raspberry puree

I whipped up a coconut buttercream and a fresh raspberry puree and lined them up with a pile of fresh Scottish raspberries (because we have beautiful rasps in Scotland).

Between the cake layers is a thin coat of coconut buttercream, a piped dam of buttercream and fresh raspberries and raspberry pureé.

Between the cake layers is a thin coat of coconut buttercream, a piped dam of buttercream and fresh raspberries and raspberry pureé.

After spreading a thin layer of buttercream on the bottom layer I piped a dam of icing around the edge and filled in the centre with fresh raspberries, squashing or breaking a few up, then drizzled some of the fresh raspberry pureé over the top. The middle layer was simply a good spread of buttercream and the top was a repeat of the bottom. I quickly crumb coated the entire cake and fired it into the fridge to cool down and firm up. After an hour I took the cake out and gave it its final thicker coat of buttercream and back into the fridge it went.

Shards of chocolate bark, fresh raspberries, Lindt white chocolate and strawberry chocolates and freeze dried raspberries coated in white chocolate from Marks & Spencer.

Shards of chocolate bark, fresh raspberries, Lindt white chocolate and strawberry chocolates and freeze dried raspberries coated in white chocolate from Marks & Spencer.

The real fun was decorating this cake. I made a white chocolate ganache and gently spread it across the cake and coaxed it to drizzle down the sides. I broke up the white chocolate and freeze dried raspberry bark that I’d made the day before and imbedded it in the top of the cake and set about filling in the gaps with: fresh raspberries; freeze dried raspberries; coconut flakes; silver balls; Mikado white chocolate sticks; Lindt Strawberries & Cream chocolates; and, my absolute find, white chocolate coated freeze dried raspberries from Marks & Spencer.

Flower paste "25" decorated with edible silver leaf.

I had made a “25” from flower paste which I added to the rest of the decorations then went about embellishing the decorations with a touch of edible silver leaf.

I was delighted with the overall appearance of the cake. I struggled to get photographs because of the thunderstorm raging outside at the time. The light was poor but I managed to snap a few shots in a window between really dark clouds and monsoon like rain.

I dug out a rigid cubed box normally reserved for delivering stacked wedding cakes to protect all these precious decorations on the top of the cake from the elements, and off I went.

And Kate, the customer that this cake was for, was such a lovely woman. She was so excited to see her cake and thrilled with it. We stood chatting for ages about all manner of things and I left after a couple of hugs having made a new friend.

It gives me so much pleasure to make and bake delicious things for people, especially when it’s for a special occasion. When someone has such a positive reaction to what I have made it fills me with such joy and satisfaction. I love to bake and I love to share what I have made with people.

Frances

DSC_0028

The finished cake

8 Comments

  1. Becki says

    I love the way you write Fran, so readable & inspiring, I’d love to know whats in your coconut buttercream – baking for school fair this week B : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Becki. 🙂 280g icing sugar, 100g soft butter and 3 tablespoons of coconut cream (not milk or the hard block) x

      Like

  2. Kate Bell says

    Our Cake! It was simply amazing and truly scrumptious! I have to confess to eating more than one slice……………..oh and I wasn’t the only one I might add! Thank You Frances for such an awesome cake to celebrate a special time in our lives – Our 25th Wedding Anniversary!! Can I book you for our 40th now please? xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, Kate, I am so pleased that you loved eating it as much as it made you smile to look at it. It was a joy to make this cake and it brought me even more pleasure delivering it and meeting you yesterday. I have put you in my diary for your 40th but I hope I don’t have to wait until then to have another good blether with you. Frances

      Like

  3. I’m inspired yet again by your beautiful cakes! If you ever start up cake decorating classes I want to be first in line!! Oh, and I’ll be off to Marks & Spencers in the morning for some of those white chocolate covered rasps! X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you again. Maybe in the future…who knows? 😊 They are lovely sweets but awfy expensive at £3 for a small box. They used to do them in packets like the chocolate raisins and they were much cheaper. They weren’t the pretty mottled pink and white but still… Worth it for a special treat.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

