biscuits and cookies, children, chocolate cakes and bakes, family
Comments 2

Well, hello there. It’s been a while.

DSC_0635

I’ve not written a blog post in weeks and weeks. And it’s not because I haven’t been baking: in fact, I was very busy baking in May and June. Then we went on holiday (smashing, thanks for asking) and now we have a new puppy in the house.

So, although I have a couple of bigger celebration cake blogs posts in me, I thought I would ease myself in with one of my favourite recipes. It’s based on a BBC Good Food biscuit recipe and I have adapted and played with it over the years. I thought I’d document and share my favourite version.

I’ve said it countless times: these are such easy and quick biscuits. They are egg free and a great recipe to make with your kids, even toddlers.

Pistachio & Chocolate Oaties (makes between 25 and 30)

250g of Butter, soft

150g of Light Brown Sugar

150g of Self Raising Flour

225g of Oats

80g of Pistachios, chopped

100g of Dark Chocolate chips (or a chopped up bar of chocolate)

  1. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  2. Blend in the flour and oats until you have a thick, but still soft and sticky, dough.
  3. Incorporate the nuts and chocolate.
  4. Scoop out heaped teaspoons and roll roughly into a ball shape and flatten slightly on a lined baking tray.
  5. Bake in a preheated oven 180C (160C fan) for 15 minutes. The biscuits will have flattened slightly, and be lightly golden but still soft. Allow to cool for 5 minutes before moving to a rack to cool completely. They will last for several days in a sealed container, but I think you will find them very moreish and that won’t be an issue.
  6. Remember, substitute the nuts and chocolate for any flavour combos you fancy. My second favourite is white chocolate and dried, chopped apricots.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

