biscuits and cookies, celebration, dessert, Feasts and Festivals, fruity cakes and bakes, wedding
Comments 2

Macathon

DSC_0641

A few months ago I was asked by a friend of a friend to make some macarons for the evening reception of their wedding. I took on the task, not realising I’d be making 250 of the little blighters, in five different flavours. It also turned out to be the most humid and hot week of the year so far. It was quite the challenge and a macarons marathon.

She chose four flavours that I was familiar with: White chocolate; Pistachio; Chocolate; and Lemon.

Version 2

Raspberry and White Chocolate

DSC_0061

Pistachio

DSC_0594

Chocolate

DSC_0630 (1)

Lemon Buttercream with a Lemon Curd centre in production.

However, she asked for one I hadn’t made before: Mojito. So, I did my research and tried out a couple of filling ideas.

DSC_0653

Mojito with fresh mint and lime.

I had wanted to make a sugar syrup with real rum, mint and lime, but it just didn’t work. I reduced it to a sticky mess and the rum flavour just wasn’t coming through. In hindsight, I think I should have used a dark rum for a more rounded flavour.

In the end, I used a rum flavouring. This is not the route I wanted to go down, but the real deal was curdling my buttercream the more I added to ensure a good enough hit of flavour. I chopped the mint and mixed it through the buttercream instead of making a syrup with it.

DSC_0635

As always, I used Ruth Clemens’ macarons recipe for the shells, but here is my recipe for the Mojito filling.

Ingredients (fills 25-30 macarons):

75g of Butter, softened

150g of Icing Sugar

Zest of 2 Limes

Juice of 1 Lime

1 1/2 Teaspoons of Rum flavouring

3 Teaspoons of chopped fresh Mint

1 Teaspoon of Lemon Curd (if you have it handy, bit it’s not essential).

Cream the butter and icing sugar until fluffy then mix in the other ingredients.

DSC_0637 (1)

I have to say it was a big relief to see the 250 boxed up macarons heading out of the door. But this is a great summer flavour that I will definitely be making again.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

