birthday, cake, celebration, children, chocolate cakes and bakes, dessert, family
Comments 6

Cookies and Cream for my boy

DSC_0853

Some people call this Hump Day; others, Wednesday. But for me, it’s like Friday. It’s my last paid working day of the week working as a teacher. But I figured that some of you who work all the way through to Friday could do with a little cheer, so I thought I’d write up the recipe for this Cookies and Cream cake quickly.

I made it for my son’s 9th birthday on Monday. He asked for a Cookies and Cream Cake (I think because he loves that flavour of ice-cream), so I googled a few recipes, but, in the end, I went with our family favourite: Nigella Lawson’s Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake as the cake base and decided to come up with the icing myself. (I used half of her chocolate icing to sandwich the two cakes together, but you could easily make more of the cookies and cream icing and use that if you prefer).

Cookies and Cream Buttercream Icing

300g of Soft Butter

300g of Icing Sugar

80g of White Chocolate, melted

2 Tablespoons of Double Cream

4 Oreo biscuits, chopped finely (I was warned about processing them, as they can become mushy and lose their crunch)

  1. Cream the butter and the icing sugar until pale and fluffy then mix in the melted white chocolate. 
  2. Add the double cream and give a very short whisk.
  3. Finally add the Oreo crumbs and mix in with a spoon so as not to make the icing too muddy a colour.

I filmed some time lapse videos of me icing and decorating the cake for a bit of fun: I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. I chilled the cake for an hour once I had covered it in buttercream so that I had a firmer base for the glaze and piping.

Covering the cake in the cookies and cream buttercream.

Drizzling the chocolate glaze down the sides of the cake.

Piping and decorating with mini oreos.

DSC_0847

Chocolate Glaze

50g of Dark Chocolate

30g of Butter

1 Teaspoon of Golden Syrup

  1. Melt all of the ingredients gently over a bain marie.
  2. Allow to cool to room temperature before using. As you will see from my video, I put my glaze in a disposable piping back and snip the tip off just before I am about to use it.

DSC_0858

I decided to pipe and wiggle the nozzle at the same time to get this more ruffled effect. I also opted for the mini Oreo for the cuteness factor, though, of course, regular Oreos will do just as well. I have to say the kids took great delight in stealing them from the cake whilst I portioned it up for them.

My son loved the cake. I hope my icing and decoration inspires you to give it a try too.

DSC_0832

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Kate says

    Hi Frances, this cake looks beautiful, well done. I would love to make it for one of my best friends who confided she’s never had a birthday cake made for her before! Just wondering what sized piping nozzle you used for the top cookies and cream decoration? Many thanks, Kate πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks fabulous, I am going to give this a try next. I love having a go at re-crating your recipes – it makes me appreciate the skill you have!!! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

