bread, patisserie and viennoiserie
Comment 1

Maple, Apple and Pecan Danish Pasties

dsc_0169-1

These Danish Pastries were inspired by being handed a bag of the cutest little apples from a friend’s garden a week before another friend and her family were due to visit. I thought they would make the perfect addition to a breakfast pastry and I could take the opportunity to use Moose Maple Butter again to make the most delicious glaze.

The day before I wanted to make the pastries I made a Crème Pâtissière and stored it in the fridge. And that evening, I made a batch of Danish Pastry dough. I used Paul Hollywood’s recipe, leaving it to chill and prove overnight in the fridge.

dsc_0137-1

In the morning I rolled out the dough to approximately 45cmX28cm then trimmed the edges with a pizza wheel. I then divided it into rough 8cm squares. I don’t think the pastries would work any bigger than this; as it was, they were rather substantial at that size.

dsc_0140

I decided to form this into a fairly simple Danish Pastry shape that would allow for a bigger area for the Crème Pâtissière and Apple to sit on. I simply folded in two corners to the centre and pressed down firmly. I covered the pastries with clean tea towels and allowed them to prove for two hours.

dsc_0145

I then prepared the apples, which I had originally planned to peel, but loved the colours of their skin, so keep them on.

dsc_0147

I halved and cored them.

dsc_0152

I decided to poach them for five minutes in a vanilla sugar syrup. I had one in the fridge from another bake, but simply warm one part sugar to two parts water with a vanilla pod (use the shell of the one you used for your Crème Pâtissière) until the sugar dissolves, then add the apples and poach gently for five minutes.

dsc_0155

Slightly wrinkly but still pretty

I then removed them from the saucepan and allowed to cool. Once cool I sliced them as carefully and evenly as possible. Of course, these apples were tiny, so I used half of one for each pastry. You will probably have bigger apples and decide to use only a couple of bigger slices instead.

I then preheated my oven to 200C (180C fan).

dsc_0159

After two hours proving

Once the pastries had proved, I gave them an egg wash, then put a generous dessert spoon of Crème Pâtissière in the centre before arranging the slices of apple on top.

dsc_0165

They went straight into the oven for 18 minutes until they were golden, risen and crisp.

dsc_0167

Once they came out, I allowed them to cool for ten minutes whilst I made the glaze, which I then drizzled over the still warm pastries.

Glaze

50g of Moose Maple Butter

60g of sieved Icing Sugar

Melt the butter and mix in the icing sugar until very smooth. I used a piping bag but you could easily use a spoon to drizzle it over the pastries.

dsc_0177

I then sprinkled them with 40g of Pecans, chopped fairly small.

If you cannot get Moose Maple Butter you could try making a glaze with Maple Syrup but if you do get a chance to try it, I thoroughly recommend it.

dsc_0176

I realise that making pastries like this is fairly time consuming, but if you plan well, and don’t expect them to be ready at 7am, then they are easily achievable. I think they make a weekend with friends staying a little bit more special.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

