dinner, lunch, meat free, pasta, savoury, vegetarian
Comments 2

Pea and Mint Ravioli

DSC_0178

If you follow my Instagram account or know me in real life, you will know that my passion goes beyond baking and all things sweet. I love to cook and have done so since I was a child.

I have decided to share some of my savoury recipes, and here comes the first one.

Ever since I first made my own pasta a couple of years ago, I (and my kids) have become quite fixated by it. Its texture is like no bought pasta, even the fresh pasta in the supermarket. It is smooth and silky, robust and filling, and deeply satisfying and very fun to make.

If you have never made your own pasta, then I urge you do so.

When I saw peas in their pods in the supermarket, it took me back to my childhood when the only peas my grandma ever served where freshly podded, having been bought from the market and brought home in a brown paper bag. I loved to sit at the dining table with her and pop the sweet, green peas from their pods. I quickly bought some and had the idea of pairing them with mint and ricotta in ravioli.

DSC_0130

As usual, I got the kids involved and they loved podding the peas too. We also discovered that our puppy loved eating the occasional escaped pea that flew across the kitchen.

Anyway, I was delighted with how the ravioli turned out, so I made it again, documented the process and wrote up the recipe. I hope that you enjoy it too.

Ingredients

250g tub of Ricotta

8 Mint Leaves, give or take 😉

15g of freshly grated Parmesan

500g of fresh peas in their pods (about 180g when out of their pods)

1 Egg Yolk

Salt and Pepper

For the Pasta:

400g of 00 or Pasta Flour

4 large Eggs

  1. Firstly, make your pasta by combining the eggs and flour in a bowl, then once you have a scraggy dough, turn it out onto a surface and kneed until smooth and silky.
  2. Wrap in clingfilm and rest in the fridge for half an hour to an hour.
  3. Now to the ravioli filling. Pod your peas and blanch them in boiling water for two minutes, then drain and place in cold water to stop the cooking and cool them rapidly.DSC_0147
  4. Once the peas are cool, blitz them in a blender until they form a rough paste.DSC_0143
  5. Chop the fresh mint.DSC_0144
  6. In a mixing bowl, add the ricotta, the egg yolk, parmesan, pea paste, mint, salt and pepper. Combine all the ingredients.DSC_0150
  7. Chill until ready to use.
  8. Roll out your rested pasta as you normally would. For filled pasta I stop at the second last setting so it is not too thin.DSC_0152
  9. Lay out your strips of pasta, load up your pea and mint filling into a piping bag if you have one (you could use a spoon but I find it easier to pipe the filling), and prepare a small bowl of cooled boiled water and a pastry brush.
  10. Pipe equal quantities of the filling at even spaces along the pasta, then lightly brush between them with water and along the long edge.
  11. Gently fold the pasta over, being careful to push out any air bubbles, then press down gently but firmly between all the fillings, so that you end up with sealed pouches of filled pasta.
  12. Using a knife, pizza wheel, or a ravioli gadget like mine, separate the pouches into individual ravioli and place to one side.DSC_0166 (1).jpg
  13. Keep going until you have used up all of your filling and pasta (you may have to roll out some excess pasta and re-use).DSC_0173 (1)
  14. Boil some salted water in a large pan and gently place the fresh ravioli in to cook. They are cooked when they float to the top and this should take 3-5 minutes. Be careful to move the ravioli gently in the pan so that they do not clump together.

I served our ravioli with some of the reserved pasta water, some melted butter and more grated parmesan.

DSC_0174.jpg

The taste was so fresh and light. It has become a firm favourite in our house: I hope it does in yours too.

DSC_0172 (1).jpg

I also served it with this beautiful Grüner Veltliner from Mark and Spencer, which went beautifully. I would love to claim that my wine knowledge is so expert that I paired it myself, but I can’t. Marks and Spencer were selling it with the label recommending it with a pea and mint risotto, so, it jumped off the shelf at me.

So, as I come to the end of my first savoury post, I feel both excited and a little cheeky. I am excited to share another passion of mine, that I simply have never thought to write down and share before, but also a little worried that people might think me arrogant to share something that I have created myself but have no training in (I have no training in baking either but somehow that feels different.) Of course, I wouldn’t have the experience of making and enjoying pasta if it wasn’t for my Italian mum, Carla Tomasi who gave me so much advice and support when I started on my pasta journey through Instagram and emails.

So, once again, big thanks and much gratitude to the wonderful friends that I have made through social media around the world. You are all my food heroes.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

